Ethiopian Festivals

The Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia is a large country located in the Horn of Africa. Ethiopia currently celebrates 13 national holidays each year. A majority of the holidays celebrated in Ethiopia are based on religious beliefs. Many of these holidays occur on different dates each year because they are calculated using the lunar cycle of different calendars.
Ethiopia has their own calendar that is very similar to the Umm al-Qura of Saudi Arabia. However, it is very distinct to its own country. Muslim holidays that are based on lunar cycles are calculated from the Umm al-Qura and not the Ethiopian calendar. The Christian holidays appear to be based off of the Easter Orthodox calendar and not the Ethiopian calendar. Other dates such as New Year’s Day are based off of the Ethiopian standard calendar.
The Labour Laws prohibit any employer from creating an employment contract that does not provide a paid day off for the holiday or double wages for work performed on national holidays.

All national holidays are regulated under Proclamation 29 issue in 1996. This proclamation eliminates all previous proclamations made under the various governments that have ruled Ethiopia in recent history. This proclamation established the current 13 holidays and eliminated one that was celebrated under the prior regime.

The Labour Laws of Ethiopia guarantee that all workers have a paid day off on national holidays. This applies to all payment schemes, including those who are paid on a monthly basis. Section 4, Chapter 3 of the Labour Laws of Ethiopia guarantee that anyone who is required to work on a national holiday due to the type of work they perform is guaranteed to receive payment at twice their actual rate for all hours worked.

fossils of Lucy Over 3.2 million years